Hi Siri, What version of the iPhone are we up to?

In November 2018 I made the arduous decision to splurge and purchase a new phone. Living with an iPhone 6S in my hand for the past 4 years made my decision quite easy….

Of course I had to purchase another iPhone.

Tech Giant ‘Apple’ have released a total of eighteen iPhones, from a 16 GB web-browser to a 512 GB all-in-one camera, work space, and entertainment centre (Carey 2018), you can imagine I was overwhelmed with the variety of options I could choose from.

h.png

This feeling of overwhelming emotions is linked to the Hyperchoice prosperity that Apple provides to their consumers. Many options of similar products make consumers use psychological energy which may result in the inability to make future purchase decisions.

The purchase of my new iPhone was pursued with an Extended Problem Solving mindset which entailed an Information Processing Perspective. The Information Processing Perspective allowed me to integrate as much possible research as I could, prior to making the purchase. This research included such things as price comparisons, the aesthetical look of the phone and the camera quality.

In respect to the Affect Infusion Model,  I had both a ‘Direct Access’ and ‘Motivated’  judgement. These judgements were perceived through the mentality of wanting a new phone for a better quality camera, and the thought of either purchasing an iPhone XR or an iPhone X. I was motivated to create quality content for companies I work for on social media, meaning I required a quality camera to do so.

Customer Value was another major influence impacting my decision to purchase an iPhone. Prior to my purchase, I had recognised that the iPhone has Hedonic Value to me. Hedonic brands provide their consumer’s warmth and positive emotions through the aesthetical appearance of the product, which is exactly how I felt throughout this process (Peter & Ponzi, p.425). The most recent iPhone varieties have a glass back panel and no home button, these two characteristics influence the Hedonic Value I associate with the iPhone.

My ultimate decision was influenced greatly by Zipf’s Law. Zipf’s law is recognised as a pattern which describes the top, second, and third-ranked products/brand (Solomn et al. p.307). Immediately before making my final decision, I ranked my top 3 preferences of iPhone varieties I was interested in.

1st– iPhone XS MAX

2nd– iPhone XS

3rd- iPhone XR

Picture1.png

Prior to ranking these, I collected the pros and cons for each version of iPhone and discussed with my father what the immediate requirements of the phone were. Finally, my decision was to purchase the iPhone XS MAX. This model resonated the most Hedonic Value, and Motivational Influence for my overall outlook on what I wished to accumulate in a new phone.

Finally, The Engel-Kollat-Blackwell Model of Consumer Behaviour is recognised through my Post-Purchase Outcome. I initially decided to purchase an iPhone as I associate the Apple brand with my previous experiences of customer satisfaction. I believe I am a brand loyal customer and would be happy to repurchase Apple products in the future.

 

Reference List:

Carey, C 2018, ‘The Evolution of the iPhone: Every Model from 2007-2018, iphonelife, 26 November, viewed 19 March, <https://www.iphonelife.com/content/evolution-iphone-every-model-2007-2016>

Peter, C, & Ponzi, M, 2018, ‘ The Risk of Omitting Warmth or Competence Information ads: Advertsiing strategies for Hedonic and Utilitarian Brand Types’, Journal of Advertising Research, vol.58, edn.4, p.425

Solomon, M, Russell-Bennett, R. and Previte, J, 2019, ‘Consumer Behaviour’, Australian Edition, 4th Ed., Pearson

Leave a comment